2012 Certified Healthy Business Winners Announced

Posted On: 1/16/2013

The Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) recently announced the annual award winners for the state Certified Healthy Oklahoma programs. The list included 55 OHA member hospitals, in addition to four health systems and OHA.

Hospitals applying for Certified Healthy Business status was a major goal of OHA’s Your 1 2 3 initiative in 2012. Becoming a Certified Healthy Business demonstrates a commitment to improving the health of employees and the community, something to which OHA member hospitals are dedicated. The number of OHA member hospitals statewide receiving the award grew from 53 to 55 this year. We fell short of our goal; 2012 goals of the Your 1 2 3 initiative included increasing the number to 80. 

OHA member hospitals awarded are:


Arbuckle Memorial Hospital, Sulphur
Atoka County Medical Center
Chickasaw Nation Medical Center, Ada
Cleveland Area Hospital
Comanche County Memorial Hospital, Lawton
Craig General Hospital, Vinita
Deaconess Hospital, Oklahoma City
Duncan Regional Hospital
Grady Memorial Hospital, Chickasha
Great Plains Regional Medical Center, Elk City
HealthPlex, Norman
Hillcrest Hospital Henryetta
INTEGRIS Baptist Medical Center, Oklahoma City
INTEGRIS Baptist Regional Health Center, Miami
INTEGRIS Bass Baptist Health Center, Enid
INTEGRIS Canadian Valley Regional Hospital, Yukon
INTEGRIS Grove Hospital
INTEGRIS Health Edmond
INTEGRIS Southwest Medical Center, Oklahoma City
Jackson County Memorial Hospital, Altus
McCurtain Memorial Hospital, Idabel
Medical Center of Southeastern Oklahoma, Durant
Memorial Hospital & Physician Group, Frederick
Mercy Health Love County, Marietta
Mercy Hospital Ardmore
Mercy Hospital El Reno
Mercy Hospital Healdton
Mercy Hospital Logan County, Guthrie
Mercy Hospital Oklahoma City
Mercy Hospital Tishomingo
Mercy Hospital Watonga
Moore Medical Center
Norman Regional Health System
Norman Specialty Hospital
Okeene Municipal Hospital
OU Medical Center Edmond
OU Medical Center, Oklahoma City
Purcell Municipal Hospital
Sequoyah Memorial Hospital, Sallisaw
Southwestern Medical Center, Lawton
Specialty Hospital of Midwest City
St. Anthony Hospital, Oklahoma City
St. Anthony Shawnee Hospital
St. John Broken Arrow
St. John Medical Center, Tulsa
St. John Owasso
St. John Sapulpa
St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center, Enid
Stillwater Medical Center
Tahlequah City Hospital
The Children’s Center, Bethany
Valir Rehabilitation Hospital, Oklahoma City
Valley View Regional Hospital, Ada
Wagoner Community Hospital
Weatherford Regional Hospital


INTEGRIS Health, Inc.
Norman Regional Health System
SSM Health Care Oklahoma
Valir Health


Oklahoma Hospital Association

This year, more than 979 applications were submitted from groups throughout the state, and 755 award winners received the “Certified Healthy” status in the categories of Certified Healthy Businesses, Certified Healthy Restaurants, Certified Healthy Schools, Certified Healthy Campuses, and Certified Healthy Communities. An awards ceremony honoring the winners will be held in February.

For the full list of award winners, visit the OSDH website at www.health.ok.gov.

The Oklahoma Certified Healthy Business Program recognizes Oklahoma businesses that provide health and wellness opportunities and are working to improve the health status of Oklahomans. To be certified, businesses must meet specific criteria, including providing employee health screenings, workplace health and nutrition education, opportunities for physical exercise activities, management support for healthy workplace environments, tobacco use prevention activities, and sharing wellness activities within their respective communities.