OHA HIIN hospital leaders awarded scholarships to conferences

Posted on: 2/21/18

The OHA HIIN (Hospital Improvement Innovation Network) awarded scholarships to 12 hospital HIIN leaders to attend the 2018 AHA Rural Health Care Leadership Conference in Phoenix, Feb. 4-7. The scholarships were awarded to OHA HIIN hospitals achieving 100 percent data submission in all required topic areas, a summary of the applicant’s role in leadership within the hospital, and a response to a question addressing community outreach, patient and family engagement, or patient safety issues: focus area, success and challenges.

Scholarships were awarded to:

Carla Hobbs, Marci Langston – AllianceHealth Ponca City
Susie Hinex – Drumright Regional Hospital
Tiffany Griffis – Eastern Oklahoma Medical Center, Poteau
Lisa Dennis – Hillcrest Hospital Pryor
Shelly Dunham, Emily Poe, Tamara Fischer – Okeene Municipal Hospital
Karen Gainey – Pauls Valley General Hospital
Rachel Stephens – The Physicians Hospital in Anadarko
Martha Syms – St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center, Enid
Brandy Moore – Wagoner Community Hospital

In addition, two scholarships were awarded to OHA HIIN wound care providers to attend the Kansas Healthcare Collaborative HIIN Wound Assessment Seminar in Hays, Kan., Feb. 8-9.

Tonya Wann, RN, Eastern Oklahoma Medical Center, Poteau, and George Spriggs, RN, BSN, MBA, Southwestern Medical Center, Lawton, attended the two-day seminar that addressed wound assessment, wound etiologies, pressure ulcer staging, and new international guidelines and recommendations for ulcer prevention and treatment. Both shared knowledge and insights gained with OHA HIIN colleagues during a Feb. 20 OHA HIIN webinar. (Patrice Greenawalt)

OHA Data Solutions 

Introducing a new initiative to improve the quality and timeliness of inpatient and outpatient encounter data available to hospitals in Oklahoma.

Learn More »