New members appointed to State Board of Health

Posted on: 5/9/18

The Oklahoma State Board of Health will be welcoming three new members following their appointment by Gov. Mary Fallin and confirmation by the Oklahoma State Senate in the recently concluded legislative session. Two members will join the board on July 1.

Charles Skillings, president of SSM Health St. Anthony Hospital - Shawnee, will replace Dr. Robert S. Stewart, whose term ends on June 30. Skillings will serve a new nine-year term that will run until June 30, 2027, representing Creek, Lincoln, Okfuskee, Seminole, Pottawatomie, Pontotoc, Hughes, Johnston, and Coal counties.

Becky Payton, regional vice president of Mercy, will replace current board president Martha Burger, who will become president of Oklahoma City University. Payton’s board position represents the state at large and her term will expire in 2024.

Ronald Osterhout begins his term immediately. He will serve the remainder of the term of Cris Hart-Wolfe, who recently resigned. Osterhout, a resident of Altus, represents Ellis, Dewey, Custer, Roger Mills, Beckham, Washita, Kiowa, Greer, Jackson, Harmon, and Tillman counties. His current term will expire in 2025.

OHA Data Solutions 

Introducing a new initiative to improve the quality and timeliness of inpatient and outpatient encounter data available to hospitals in Oklahoma.

Learn More »