OHA clinical initiatives awards 22 scholarships for health care workforce development

Posted on: 8/16/19

OHA clinical initiatives awarded health care workforce development scholarships to 22 qualified hospital professionals to become certified either as a Certified Professional in Health Quality (CPHQ) or for Certification in Infection Prevention and Control (CIC).   

This project was funded in part by the Telligen Community Initiative to initiate and support, through research and programs, innovative and farsighted health-related projects aimed at improving the health, social well-being and educational attainment of society, where such needs are expressed.

This workforce development opportunity will increase health care provider access to evidence-based educational resources and will improve job satisfaction, staff retention, and patient outcomes. Eighty-two percent of the scholarships were awarded to rural hospitals in counties with a population less than 90,000.

The scholarship includes preparational tools (online preparation, study guide) and monthly webinars facilitated by a consultant. Additionally, the cost of the national certification exam will be reimbursed after successful completion within the project period (July 2019 - June 2020).

Congratulations to the following scholarship recipients:       

Amber Albers, Mercy Hospital Kingfisher    
Shoneen Alexander-Ross, Muscogee Creek Nation Department of Health, Okmulgee
Jennifer Dye, AllianceHealth Ponca City    
Portia England, Lindsay Municipal Hospital
Jodie Frantzen, Duncan Regional Hospital
Corinne Hunter, AllianceHealth Durant
Julie Jordan, Northeastern Health System, Tahlequah
Tennille Karns, OU Medicine, Oklahoma City
Dinah Lazarte, Southwestern Medical Center, Lawton
Renee Russell, Hillcrest Hospital Cushing     
Lisa Brown, Mercy Hospital Ada
Cassidee Fortune, Fairview Regional Medical Center
Tammi Jantzen, Okeene Municipal Hospital
Ellen Kirk, Roger Mills Memorial Hospital, Cheyenne
Kelvin McMillan, Mercy Health Love County, Marietta
Jennifer Messer, Prague Community Hospital
Lori Patterson, Norman Regional Health System
Brittany Scully, Purcell Municipal Hospital
Karen Singleton, Mary Hurley Hospital, Coalgate
Katrina Summerlin, St. John Rehabilitation Hospital, Tulsa