State lawmakers receive OHA Outstanding Achievement Awards

Posted on: 11/22/19

Left to right are Jay Johnson, Rep. Marcus McEntire, Sen. Greg McCortney and Patti Davis.
Two state legislators received the OHA’s Outstanding Achievement Award: Sen. Greg McCortney and Rep. Marcus McEntire. This award recognizes outstanding contributions made to health care by an individual or organization.

Born and raised in Ada, Okla., Sen. McCortney is a third generation Oklahoman. He was elected to the Oklahoma State Senate in 2016 and represents Garvin, Hughes, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie and Seminole counties.

Sen. McCortney holds a bachelor’s degree from Oklahoma City University and a Master of Divinity from Asbury Theological Seminary. Prior to his election to the State Senate, Sen. McCortney was a city councilman in his hometown of Ada, and served two terms as mayor. He is the former chairman of the Ada Chamber of Commerce and a member of Leadership Oklahoma Class XXVIII. He is the owner/operator of McCortney Family In-home Care.

Rep. McEntire is a fourth generation resident of Stephens County. He was elected to the Oklahoma House of Representatives in 2016 and represents Jefferson and Stephens counties.

Rep. McEntire holds a bachelor’s degree in communication studies from the University of Oklahoma, a Master of Divinity from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, and a Master of Arts in Sociology from the University of Virginia. McEntire and his wife, Leigh, own a small business in Duncan, Distinctive Décor. He serves the Duncan community in many ways, including past president of the Duncan Rotary Club. He has served on the Duncan Regional Hospital Foundation board for more than five years, currently as the finance chair.